Local Emergency Planning Committee 

The Darke Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) is a thirty-seven member Committee is established in both federal and state law under the SARA Title III Act in federal code; as well as, Ohio Revised Code Chapter 3750. The purpose of the LEPC is to perform “Community Planning” for emergencies that involve hazardous and/or extremely hazardous substances. These plans must include fixed site facilities, as well as, transportation systems to include railway, pipeline, and highways.


Members of the Darke County LEPC are nominated by the Board of Darke County Commissioners and appointed to two-year terms by the State of Ohio Emergency Response Commission (SERC).


The Darke County LEPC meets quarterly on the third Tuesday of March, June, September and December beginning at 10:00 a.m. at the Darke County EMA facility, 5183 County Home Road in Greenville. All meetings of the Darke County LEPC are open to the public.


The Darke County LEPC also serves as the Darke County Citizen Corps Council.


Executive Committee

President - Matt Aultman, Darke County Commissioner
Vice President - Brian Phillips, Greenville Township Emergency Services
Treasurer - Mark Whittaker, Darke County Sheriff's Office
Secretary - James Schaar, Citizen at large 


Board Members

Information Coordinator - Mindy Saylor, Darke County EMA
Emergency Response Coordinator - Ken Johnson, Darke County LEPC
Josh Haney, Darke County EMA
Russ Thompson, Greenville Fire Department
Eric Roberts, Greenville Police Department
Tom Hans, Butler Township Trustee 
Scott Hill, Wayne HealthCare

Van Spitler, Wayne HealthCare
Steven Wenning, Greenville Township Emergency Services
Terry Holman, Darke County General Health District

Brittany Weitzel, Darke County General Health District
Toni Carmichael, Ohio EPA
Amanda Browne, Ohio EPA
Keith Wise, Ohio EPA
Krista Fourman, Darke County Solid Waste District
Erik Martin, The Early Bird
Marc Cantrell, American Red Cross
Todd Kendall, BASF
Cheryl White, Whirlpool
Allen Keaser, Whirlpool
Andy Williams, AEP 
Alan Davis, Ohio Department of Transportation
Jerry Miller, Ohio Department of Transportation
Phil Clayton, Ohio EMA
Sam Reed, Ohio EMA
Jeff Yantis, Darke ARES
John Milliff, EGI
Beth Davenport, Darke Rural Electric
Ben Centers, Continental Carbonic
Jerry McEldowney, Midmark Corp
Chad Kimmel, Midmark Corp
Vince Moncado, Andersons
Mike Colamarino, Darke County Parks District

Jim Bowell, Edison State Community College